Nelly Furtado cleans my office!

Everybody hears funny names at work; sometimes names of celebrities. A couple of weeks ago, one of my board members suggested to contact Jim Morisson! It made me laugh inside, but didn’t bother saying anything.

Last week, on the other hand, another situation made me crack up. The cleaning lady who comes everyday to our office around 4pm, a short 40 something lady who is quite friendly, starts talking in Polish with my Polish friend. When I say talking, I mean she barely practiced repeating the only sentence she knows in Polish. My colleague told her she was really good, with the right pronunciation and all, and tells her to try French with me, since I’m from France. The cleaning lady says she doesn’t know anything, but I insist and she doesn’t make me ask twice and says: “je m’appelle”, I tell her that it’s good but should finish her sentence, so she continues: “je m’appelle Nelly” with a big smile on her face and giggling. As I was about to congratulate her, she continues: “Je m’appelle Nelly Furtado” and bursts in laughter! To be polite, I fake a laugh, because to be honest it wasn’t a good joke and not really laughing material. But she turns to me with a calmer laugh saying: “you think I’m being funny huh! you don’t believe me!”. At that point I don’t know what to say, and she comes closer and shows me her badge: “see, I’m Nelly Furtado”! This took me by surprise and this time I genuinely burst in laugh, and she laughed together. My Polish colleague still thinks we’re laughing at a lame joke, so the cleaning lady goes to her and shows her the badge!

What are the odds! Two Nelly Furtado’s in Toronto! I’m actually persuaded that I met the ORIGINAL!

PS: On the celebrity series, I saw Jamario Moon driving in a SUV with a lady right in front of my office.

~ by princeali on August 5, 2008.

One Response to “Nelly Furtado cleans my office!”

  1. Nice and usefull post, thanks, this is one for my bookmarks!

Leave a Reply

 
