So long TO

Yes, I haven’t posted in almost 2 months, a new low for me. Let’s say finals, administrative issues, interviews, moving out and travel have kept me busy. And yes, I did pass all my classes (some were close as expected).

First, thumbs down to Graduate House at UofT. I asked to be able to move out after my final exam, but they were not accommodating when I know for a fact that it takes at least 3-4 days for a new resident to move in. All these greedy idiots wanted was a full month rent when I wanted to stay an extra 48h. They didn’ even let me stay an extra 24h, and wanted me to move out at 3pm when my last final was at 6pm that Thursday.

Overall, yes Grad House was convenient and had fun social events (yes food nights!), but the administration was horrible! At best they didn’t try helping; at worst they were amazingly rude, and looked like they tried to make it as stupid as possible, not even following their own rules! For a non-profit branch of a public University supposed to help students find affordable housing, they did the exact opposite (not helping, while not being cheap). Overall, very bad value for the money. I would not recommend it; and rather suggest to find 2-3 roommates and find a small house close to campus. That will be my sense of education in UofT: get as much money as possible from students while not delivering…

Who knows when I will come back to TO; and who would have expeced that I would have mixed feelings leaving some good friends, in a place where I did have some good times…

~ by princeali on May 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
